Halloween Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
591 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought some servos for a project since this year I want to try a prop with some;My question is what stuff do I need now to run the servos. I.E. how is it powered,I'm guessing I need a prop 1 or something like that for control but what else for the servo it self not the prop stuff just what makes the prop run the you have to have ....and any searchable names so I can find these things helps to.I'm a newbie to servos but have always wanted to do props with them.

·
Registered
22 Posts
How about mini ssc from medonis.com for a controller and VSA from brookshire software for a program to run it!

Hope this helps
Skullwerks

·
Registered
76 Posts
Servos normally run on 4.8 - 6 VDC and need some type of controller board to operate them. Most users connect the board to a PC through either a USB or serial port. One of the least expensive boards that I've used is only $20 Pololu - Pololu Micro Serial Servo Controller (assembled)
Another popular unit I've seen mentioned on this board is from Parallex - $40 for either a USB or serial model Parallax Servo Controller (USB)
As the previous user mentioned, VSA is typically used for props requiring synchonizing audio with the movements. It's around $60 - Visual Show Automation - Overview
There are numerous threads on this forum discussing this in much more detail, so I would suggest using the search function.

Mark

·
Registered
591 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
so are the servos powered off the board?which would be powered of the?usb or serial?is the serial port powered?

·
Registered
76 Posts