Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
495 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK,
I know this is vague and depends on tons of factors. What I'm looking for is a haunted garage walk though. YES I have been building for many, many years. But I have always had a yard haunt.
I want to take it to the next level.
I have access to tons of pallets I thought that would be great FREE walls/dividers covered in plastic and cardboard.

THEME: torture chamber???

Some questions I have and know the answers to but looking for input from my fellow haunters
  • Building materials?
  • Layout?
  • how many rooms? (I know it depends on the room)
  • Scrim wall a must?
  • How wide should the paths/rooms be?
Things I have:
  • Spill your guts illusion prop
  • many pneumatic props
  • skeletons
  • decorations
  • 2-5 actors
Any other tips/pointers you want to add. I'll try to post up a diagram of dimensions.
-PB

·
Going bump in the night..
3,388 Posts
Is this going to be a continuation of any kind of yard haunt you already have, or do you wish to make the garage become THE haunt (outside of some decorations and props in the yard)?

My thought would be: have the complicated / big illusion scenes be within the garage - only a room or two, so you can really make best use of your talents where you can control things the best, and then have an extension into the driveway / yard that leads into the "big scene"...set them up, as it were, for the big fall.

Some props in the yard for atmosphere...an entryway with a hallway leading to the garage - perhaps an actor or two in that hallway, giving a good scare as they proceed. Build the atmosphere in the hallway, either widening it, or narrowing it, to build towards your big scare in the garage.

Animitronics, and your illusions, could then be set up where you have power, cover, attachment points above, below and to the sides of your props and illusions to give better control.