Halloween Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I just wanted to know if there is a huge difference between hot glue guns? Im going to need to buy one and it looks like prices are all over the board. In Wally World a larger glue gun is about $7, but in Lowes the same size gun is $14. Do the less expensive guns work well or would they be a waist of money? I have a ton of glueing I need to do so I do need a good glue gun.
Thanks everyone as always you guys are fantastic, audible

·
Mistress of Mayhem
1,673 Posts
I'm no expert, but I do know that they come in different wattages. And some use the mini sticks and some use the normal size sticks. Some are dual-temp some are single temp. I got mine at Michael's, it's a SureBonder, only has one temp - high, and uses the regular size sticks. I have had no problems with it whatsoever.

Here is the one I bought. I think it was under $20: Glue Gun

·
Registered
340 Posts
yep, msmello has it right. Power is the main difference. Higher watts lets you pump out a higher volume of hot glue faster. Getting a variable temp gun is a good idea, I wish I got one when I was shopping for one. The glue sticks very well to pvc and plastics and pink foam (among many other things) but the high temp tends to melt the foam a little. I would think a little lower temp would minimize that.

I tried a bunch of different sticks too. There really does seem to be a difference between the regular and 'maximum strength' and the sticks for basic materials and the ones for everything including plastics, glass and non porous surfaces. I stick with the best sticks I can find and it's become my go-to glue for Halloween props!

Good luck!

·
Registered
130 Posts
Another question is if different guns melt the glue to different consistances? I believe someone made a post about making PVC candles and made a comment about how runny the glue should be to make "wax" drips on the sides.

·
The Goddess of Screams