Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year jumping into the animated props. I have decent graveyard and plenty of static props, but I want make things a little more entertaining this year.

My question is, how difficult is it to wire and work with motors? Please keep in mind when replying, I have very little mechanical and/or electronic skills. I'm not afraid to try, but I don't have natural mechanical abilities.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Don't let it intimidate you. I was similar back when I started my haunt. I usually ended up getting shocked by my wiring initially but once you start something larger and more complicated than you ever did before, work through some problems or issues as you go, then see what you create work and the effect it gives you're hooked!

Go for it! Send pics of what you create to show the group.

·
Keeper of Spider Hill
1,780 Posts
This is my first year jumping into the animated props. I have decent graveyard and plenty of static props, but I want make things a little more entertaining this year.

My question is, how difficult is it to wire and work with motors? Please keep in mind when replying, I have very little mechanical and/or electronic skills. I'm not afraid to try, but I don't have natural mechanical abilities.
You might want to search the forum for wiper motors. You should be able to find some great projects built with them. I bought my wiper motor kits from Halloween Prop Building Supplies For The Home Haunter - Monster Guts . This is a great route to go. Good price, and it comes with everything you need to more or less just plug it in so wiring isn't really an issue. They are also really good to deal with. :)

·
Blaberus craniifer
4,920 Posts
I'll second that. Wiper motors are great and work really well. Just two wires to connect (either hi or low speed). MonsterGuts is a great source for them also!

·
Registered
955 Posts
Stay with 12V DC