Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I am a newbie to this site, but not to Haunted Houses-I've been doing one in my Garage on and off for about 15 Years-after a two Year hiatus, I'm doing one again this Year, but need your help on Motion Sensors.

I did a Search, and read as much as I could, but I am Electronically challenged-most of my Props are pneumatic, and I control them with valves and flow control valves that I purchsed from Grainger-I have to be centrally located, but it has worked in the past.

I have had problems through the Years getting people to show up and help, so I have tried to have as many props self energize as possible.

The problem I am having is that sometimes the Motion/Light Sensors that come with the Prop do not work, or are erratic. It appears that people are using regular Motion sensors-is this the answer? I have made some triggers that you step on, and they work o.k. for lights and such, but I do not know how to wire something like that into a commercial made prop that already has a sensor-

Can you please enlighten me? I am at a loss, and have thought of just having a black light behind people so that it iwll "trip the beam"-please teach this idiot!

·
You Rang?
1,079 Posts
Like most haunters I have used/hacked motion sension light fixtures and the motion sensing wall switches. The results has been mixed but generally less then desired. The main issues with these are:

Limited adjustment for time on and retrip
Very tempermental
Contain an electric eye so only work when dark and can be affected you other lights

The best improvement to these is to put a short tube or plactic pipe over the lens to focus the field of view. Think toilet paper tube size and length