Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well it cost me a lot more than what most internet sites say it will, but I built a fog chiller. I think I am doing something wrong here so I have a bunch of questions. Basically this is what it looks like, the 1000 watt chiller sits on top. All of the piping is 3" except the inside of the chest that flares up to 4" with the screen. I only had enough ice to fill the chest up toward the top of the screen, but it never covered it on my first run. I was a little underwhelmed of what came out. I put a partial trashbag right at the exit. I guess a decent amount of fog came out and most of it hugged the ground. It seemed like there was a good bit inside the ice chest, actually a lot. Is this normal? Also should I be using partial dry ice? I have never worked with it before and am actually scared about even being able to find it on Halloween. Between runs of the fogger a decent amount would come out between the fogger and the opening, which is the 3" pipe narrowed down to 1.5", that seems wasted.

Here is a pic.

20151017_105742.jpg

This is the juice I will be using on Halloween, I used something else for my test.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FLLUU8?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00

This is the fog machine.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00F2ATHMK?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00

·
Registered
719 Posts
get rid of the screen and just fill the chest up with ice and see how it works. The fog needs to flow between the ice and mix with the cold air. With that set up the fog is pretty much just shooting through the cooler with out really contacting the ice, kind of like a tunnel through the ice instead of coming into contact with the ice

·
Going bump in the night..
3,388 Posts
I've used that design before, and it works...adequately...but not great.