Halloween Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
greetings Halloween forum,
First off i want to say everyone does a wonderful job with their creations.its the first time posting and the first time making a prop.Im a indie filmmaker so i need to build this prop on a low budget. I don't know where to start with this project and want to know if anyone can give me any tips on it. Now to the nitty gritty so what i have in mind is something similar to the sarlacc in star wars but of course smaller,without the tenatacles/tongue and inside a box.i just need it to have sharp teeth and make a chewing motion.i added the picture with the post. Sorry for the long post and i thank you in advance. :)

Abraham.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Around 7 inches in height and in width.i was thinking i can create a funnel like mouth and in the inside i can squeeze with my hand to make the chewing motion.i made a diagram of what i have in mind. what i need is some type of material that will be stretchy enough to press in and out and still look moist like a mouth of a creature would be. Doesn't really have to look perfect because that's not the point of the visual its just the idea of a creature living in a box and chewing the food for the character of the film.
thank you in advance.
Abraham

·
Insane Genius
1,251 Posts
hm.... 'writhing' tentacles could me made cheaply with a simple slow motor and some bent wire.

When Filming you would want to make sure you take short cuts of the writing action then cut to another scene (screaming/struggling actor) before returning to a writhing tentacle cut, this way you don't give the viewer enough information to deduce that you've used such a simple trick.

You can enhance the illusion by making bends and repositioning the tentacles between each cut.