Halloween Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm making zombie heads for my Halloween display. I'm using styrofoam wig heads and then transforming them using Stiltbeast's excellent video

In the video he makes wig head skulls, but I want to make zombies so I'm changing the process a bit. I'm leaving much more skin on, and instead of dry brushing as Stiltbeast does, I'm going to give it a paintjob that makes it more 'moist' and alive.

Here's where I'm at right now...
0811151313.jpg

As you can see the eyebrows are disappointing as are the teeth, but I don't care so much. I painted a nice white base coat, but what do I do now? How can I make realistic eyes, and how do I fix the fact that he looks like he's wearing a plastic mask? What colors and type of paint do I use? How can I make lips? Remember I'm a terrible artist and have no artistic background or skill. Help!!!

·
Registered
126 Posts
Looks good so far. As for the brow...stick some more Paper Clay up there and mold it anyway you want it to look.

·
Registered
285 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Those eyes are AWESOME! If I cut out eye sockets though he'll look less like a zombie and more like a skull which I'm trying to avoid. I wonder if I could just cut some of the eyeball out or cover it with something to make 'lids'. Would liquid latex work?

·
Registered
393 Posts
I don't think you're giving yourself enough credit because I think it looks great! The teeth are awesome! I'd use latex but maybe after you've corpsed it a bit more with either more plastic or other materials, maybe some areas where the skin is hanging off. You're definitely on the right track!

·
Registered
407 Posts