Halloween Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first post for help. I have been creating Halloween Themes for the past 5 years. This year I am creating camp crystal lake.
I need to create a cool lake/water effect for the first 5 feet of my garage. I thought about blue vinyl and coating it with some sort of clear coat gloss. Maybe like 3 coats for thickness. I got the idea from train set mini lakes. But I don't know what type of product to use. Or does anybody have a better idea? Im going for as real looking, but stylistic as possible. Creepy, murky, shimmering. Any ideas? I'm starting early so I can go all out this year.

Thanks!!
Anthony

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I though about the projection idea, only thing is I am planning on having a young Jason in a canoe on the lake. =) I need to cover 5 feet by 12 feet the "Lake" will meet a back drop of trees/forest. I've done cellophane before, but I am to come up with something with more realism.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Interesting, I don't want to use real water though. since it will be the entrance of my garage... Good Idea if it was a yard. I'm thinking the model trainset faux water effect just on a bigger scale. Not sure what kind of clear coat or "goo" would work to build depth over a blue vinyl/tarp

·
Evil Wizard
2,168 Posts
If I remember correctly, last year someone had used sheets of that iridescent mylar (often used for gift-wrapping) and some blue spotlights to create the illusion of water flowing under a makeshift bridge.

·
Registered
309 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
That looks cool, like the effect! What type of vinyl did you use...from where? Light recommendations? Do you have a photo of setup in daylight? Thanks for the help! Sorry so many questions!

·
Registered
309 Posts