Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hiya!

I recently began to build a Hellevator prop. It's a elevator guest enter, then continues to simulate falling.

I am using a 'Scissor table' frame to support the guests and elevator. Here is my progress so far. I am making it out of wood first to get an idea or size. If it is not strong enough I will start again with steel.

http://s1202.photobucket.com/albums/bb379/benhowardmagic/?action=view&current=hellevator.jpg

I need a way to lift this thing, and I think pneumatics if my best bet. However, I am completely new to pneumatics and have a low budget. It seems I need a strong cylinder to lift this. I’m looking for around 3-4 people to be in the lift at once.

I have explored the area of airbags, air springs, car jacks ect. However, I'm keen to look into cylinders.

If anyone could help me with were to begin, what cylinders, air tank ect Any info or opinions would be useful! :D I also need a way to automate the cylinder, but I will come to that later!

Thanks, Ben.

·
Registered
157 Posts
You might need Hydraulics for that rig man. 3-4 people, depending on their size prob weigh around 500lbs, not sure if there is a pneumatic cylinder (that's not industrial sized) can lift that much weight. I imagine you would need a pretty powerful air compressor for that much weight too.

Also, many people are going to give you a heads up about safety. Remember, if you let people on your "ride" and they get hurt, you could be held liable for these injuries.

Airbags might work for this though as they can usually lift quite a bit of weight, but you might need bags designed for vehicle suspension. Could end up being kind of pricy when your done too

·
Registered
1,282 Posts