Halloween Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, I’m new to Halloweenforum.com
I only resently started to do Halloween props. My first attempt was with the madame leota scene (you can take a look in my gallery) and I am currently working on a scary haunted tree. It is still a work in progress but the wanted to share it. I am a big fan of recycling and I am happy to say that this prop w is made out of recycled materials (well except the tape lol). I was fortunate to fined these amazing cardboard tubes for free! They are quite thick and sturdy. Hope you like it.

Attachments

·
Typical Ghoul Next Door
7,008 Posts
Looks VERY nifty - can't wait to see it finished. :)

I love working with found stuff and do most of my prop builds using stuff I got off the curb, in the "free" section on craigslist, or scavenged elsewhere. I really enjoy working with cardboard since it's sturdy and easy to mold into all sorts of interesting things, so this tree looks especially awesome to me.

Welcome to the forum!!

·
Registered
720 Posts
If you want to recycle some cardboard boxes, you can cut them into strips, random and jagged, to create bark. Soak em in water, then glue em up and down to create good grooves and lines between strips. Even let them overlap a bit. The more random the better.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hi Bryan316!
That is a great idea! It will save me so much time in rolling the paper and it would definitely give me more textures. When you say to wet the cardboard and then glue it, do you mean while it is still wet? Sorry for the dumb question lol

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Nice work!

Just curious - what did you use to build up around the eyes and mouth?
Sorry I totally forgot to take a pix of that step!
For the eyes I rolled up newspapers and just quept on gluing them on top of each other until I got the thickness I wanted.