Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Brand new to this website. I am really brand new to making Halloween item too. But I jumped in head first and I am having a blast creating this stuff. I started a project for my daughter, a haunted dollhouse. Just curious if anyone else has done this and has any advice. My biggest fear is that the paint will just flake off after a short period of time. The first picture is what it looked like in the beginning.
Dollhouse begin.jpg
Dollhouse1.jpg
Dollhouse2.jpg
Dollhouse3.jpg
Dollhouse4.jpg

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Once I get it completely painted and put it back together, I plan on gluing some moss and vines along the sides of it. It has been super fun doing it. Been looking for more dollhouses to paint.

·
Somewhat Eccentric
2,278 Posts
Looks great! I love the way you creeped it up. :)

As for the paint flaking, I know Krylon makes a spray paint especially for plastic, but I've never used it so can't say how well it works. Maybe a clear matte spray would help protect it, but since it's for your daughter, I don't know how long the smell of the paint would linger.

·
Imitation Imagineer
1,130 Posts
First of all, that looks fantastic! :)

My daughter has suggested something similar with a VERY large dollhouse that she has, and we're trying to figure out a 'look'. I think we may take some liberal inspiration and ideas (e.g. steal) from Disney's Haunted Mansion.

With that said, the plastic question is a tricky one, especially given how far along your project is. However, I would offer the following comments in general.

- Sanding plastic will likely help with adhesion of paint
- Cleaning with alcohol will likely assist as well
- Using a primer coat prior to painting will improve the final result
- Krylon 'Fusion' is designed to work well with plastic (Mentioned by lizzyborden above, and largely true in my experience)