Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, so there are some woods (a few acres) by my house and I recentley got permission to build a haunt in it by the owner. I'm not going to charge a mandatory entree fee but I am going to put some kind of bucket outside of the haunt for donations. Nothing is mandatory, it's just in case they feel like leaving a donation, which would be great considering the time and money I am planning on putting into it. Although I'm doing it because I love halloween and I am an special effects makeup artist so i love all of this stuff. Would I need any kind of permit, license etc. to do this? I can't find info on this anywhere! Thanks!

·
What Hump?
1,107 Posts
Although licensing, from the business side of the house, is not really their arena, it's always a good idea to get the local fire marshal involved.
The fire marshal will have worked with other attractions and events in the area and will be able to tell you what other people you need to contact.

Contacting the fire marshal is a scary step, but it is such a weight off of your shoulders to know that you are in compliance with safety codes. Since you are outdoors, most jurisdictions have less strenuous requirements for open-air attractions. But, nobody on this or any other forum will be able to give you the official answer you need unless that person is the fire marshal for your jurisdiction.

Make sure there is some sort of liability insurance in place as well. Again, a scary step, but soooooo relieving to know that you have it in place.

·
Insert Witty Comment Here
4,484 Posts
Once money gets involved, the rules on insurance change...even if it's just donations..you should talk with your insurance guy. Same goes for the fire marshall...they may look at it differently if money is involved.

·
Registered
383 Posts