Halloween Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am doing my first walk thru haunt this year and have already created about a dozen pallet walls. But alas, do not have enough pallets to finish my plan so I need to make about 14 more walls. I was going to use 2x4 lumber but then I found 1x2 lumber for half the price. Will 1x2 be sturdy enough for a haunt wall or is it better to just suck up the extra expense now and use 2x4 ?

·
Registered
586 Posts
I personally dont have a home haunt but i was a carpenter for 10 years. The sturdiness depends on the load you will have on the walls. If you plan on using some lightweight material to cover them and not have any thing over a couple pounds tacked to the walls it should be ok to use 1x2. Using 1x2 will also be lighter so it should be a good option for a temp wall set up.

Just dont place alot of load pressure against them.

·
Caretaker of Eerie Manor
6,640 Posts
We use 2x3 studs covered with plywood. We like the added sturdiness as we get a lot of people going through and they tend to back into walls when they are scared lol! What are you planning to use for overlayment? As GC said, 1x2's will be fine for thin overlayment and not needing to support a heavy load. We do have a few covered in luan used in areas where no one is going to in contact wiith them. nice and light for setting up too!

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses. I have 3 walls that will have a thin plywood covering (one with a drop panel - solid walls on either side in case someone freaks out) and one with a projected image, otherwise the rest will be all fabric covered walls. Perhaps I can get away with the cheaper wood for the fabric covered walls and then use 2x4's for the plywood walls.

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
However : I will be bracing the walls on the top and tarping it so I don't get rained out. Maybe I should just use 2x4 all around to be safe.

·