Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My old camera I used for taking pictures of my haunt is about dead. I'd love to know what you use, and please show examples!

·
Registered
238 Posts
I have quite a few cameras and its not the size of the camera it's how you use it ;) Some cameras obviously have better capabilities with iso but If you use a tripod drag your shutter you can get great photos. Taking your camera off auto is really the trick. :) I love the feel of a nikon because it fits in my hands better. I just like it. Having said that I have used Sony and Canon as well. Pricing and feel really is what will determine what you want. What camera did you have?

·
Registered
170 Posts
I agree. I have been an amateur photographer since I was 13 and got my first Minolta SRT-101 and got on the yearbook staff. I try not to use a flash, but if I do, I use slow sync to expose the scene and then fill with flash. You really have to understand exposure. Ine trick is to use the sunset. Don't shoot in the dark, shoot 30 mins after sunset to use some of the remaining skylight. You can use a phone if you know what you are doing and have manual control of the photo app.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

·
Registered
170 Posts
I need to shoot in the dark to really get the lighting.
Then you are going to need a tripod and play with a longer exposure and try to not blowout the lights while using those lights to expose the scene so you get some of that too. An advanced trick is to use software, or a mode in many cameras called HDR for "high dynamic range" It takes multiple shots at different exposures and combines them. Some scenes are impossible to shoot without this if the difference between light and dark is too great and you want detail in both.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
That helps. I have never really done photography seriously despite my father having been really into it.

·
Registered