Halloween Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this forum and new to being a home haunter as well. So I apologize if there is a thread about this already.

I created a cemetery yard display with some nice lighting. I want to take some awesome photos of my display, but I'm struggling with the camera settings. (I'm no pro photographer!)

Can anyone help me out with what settings to use as far as the shutter speed and aperture go? I am using a Nikon Coolpix P900 with a tripod and a timer... I know you're supposed to use a low shutter speed and a larger aperture, but I was messing around with that and it wasn't really working well. The color in my photos wasn't what I was hoping for.
Any help would be appreciated so I can get some nice shots before Halloween is over and I take down all my work!

·
Registered
63 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum. I am adding a link to another thread that I hope will help. My personal experience with this is very limited so wont be much help there. Others will eventually chime in but it being this close to the big day for them I'm sure most of them are out doing last min tweaks to their haunts.
Here is the link to the other thread hope it is useful to you. :)
http://www.halloweenforum.com/halloween-props/145395-nighttime-dark-camera-setting-help.html

·
Registered
383 Posts
I am not familiar with the Coolpix line ( have a D300s) but if your color isnt right..can you adjust the white balance on that camera? The type of lighting shows up different on the camera sensor than it does to our eyes.
If using the tripod you do not have to use a large aperture..a smaller one ( f/8 ,f/7.1) will give you more depth of field.