Halloween Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the forum. I've been building Halloween props for the past 3 years. This is my 2016 prop build. It is essentially a Cauldron Creep. I've liked these props since I saw my first one. Though it's not a particularly original build, I really wanted to make my own. My 10 year old son had the awesome idea to make him a Grim Reaper stirring the cauldron with his scythe. I thought that was something I could run with. I wanted it to have expanding wings, so I veered from the classic build design with the pvc frame to accommodate the extra weight and movement caused by the wings.

I'm pretty satisfied with the outcome, except for the cables showing on the wings. I wish I had done that part differently.

Here is a video of the prop.

I have many, but not all, photos of the build progress if anyone would like to see the particulars.

Thanks for viewing. I'll be posting some of my other builds as well.

·
Registered
3,241 Posts
Awesome job! I made a Cauldron Reaper a couple years ago also. I do have one suggestion though, I think it would look even better if you slow down the stir and the head up/down. Really great work!

·
Oak Lane Cemetery
1,915 Posts
Really awesome! LOVE the eye movements! Stir does seem way too fast though. I'm also not a fan of eyes that light up, but that's just me, lots of people love them. Could you create some way to hide those wing cables you spoke of? They probably won't be noticeable in low light anyways, but maybe some black freaky fabric or a cloth "webbing membrane that would still allow the cable to slide through? Maybe put a small tube over the cables so you could glue material over it without interfering with it?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #7