Halloween Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Prince of Arkham Asylum
2,553 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I have a question for those of you who have sizeable pillars for your graveyard gate/fencing. I saw a somewhat similar thread from a couple years ago regarding coffins, but I'm looking for more substantive solutions because I'm not setting up a week before Halloween to prevent the dead grass.

I made entrance pillars a couple years ago, and for the last two years I've found myself reseeding two large squares of completely dead grass each of the last two Springs. :mad: Now, while I've become an expert at growing the grass back fully, I was wondering if others have a solution where I can avoid complete dead patches altogether.

I assume I'm not the only one who has this issue. Have any of you figured out a way to avoid this? I'm not an expert, but I'm betting the cause is the lack of light, airflow, and water. I set up my graveyard in early October, so there isn't much chance of it surviving a full month with none of these.

My first thought is to drill a few holes in the top of each pillar. That should allow a fair amount of light (although not direct), airflow, and some water when it rains. Anyone else have any other ideas?

Thanks!

·
Registered
226 Posts
My pillars are open on top and I live in Southern California where its almost always sunny, and I only set up about 10 days before Halloween and still get dead squares. So I do not think holes will help sadly.

·
Registered
30 Posts
I had the same problem with a big dead patch under each pillar. My solution was to cut square blocks from a 2x4 and screw them to each corner on the bottom. After being up for 3 weeks on only had small 4 inch dead spots instead of a giant spot. You couldn't really notice because of the grass. And, as a plus, it made it much easier to feed the extension cords in.

·
Registered
226 Posts