Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Oak Lane Cemetery
2,019 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been saying for a couple of years that I wanted to make a groundbreaker style toe pincher coffin, but never ran across any old fence boards to make it with. While I was teaching my wife to carve and paint the foam window boards last week we decided to make one from foam over a wooden frame. I'm referencing the one built here - http://www.spyderwood.com/Styrofoam Coffin.html - for the basic frame construction, but the foam skinning will be done in the same style I do my window boards and singnage - old, dry, and split planks. I want to make the door slightly askew (and removeable) and have a skeleton arm hanging out, possibly with some movement if I can find the right parts. So far I've got the frame finished. Went very quick using staples to clamp the framing together, then secured it all once assembled with 4 inch galvanized screws to be sure it will be solid enough to withstand the elements. Next week I'll be making a run to Lowes for the insulation board to skin it.

·
Registered
7,208 Posts
Very Impressive! And you headless helper does very superlative work!

·
Oak Lane Cemetery
2,019 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Very Impressive! And you headless helper does very superlative work!
Ha ha, yea I've been keeping Hagetha's head indoors away from the summer heat and humidity to prolong the life of the latex mask. She is pretty much just in the way now. I had her out to add some details, and need to move her back to my storage room behind my workshop so I'll have room to work on the coffin.

·
Oak Lane Cemetery
2,019 Posts
Discussion Starter #13