Halloween Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seeking help on Crypt build

So we are attempting to build this style of crypt 12' x 12' from scratch.

Architecture Building House Shed Tomb

I think we have the build portion down pretty well, but I have limited experience forming this much foam for the design. Essentially each side is going to be almost completely covered. I am thinking the best bet is to use the 2" thick - 4' x 8' pink foam sheets from the lumber yard.

I really need some tutorials, videos, or advice with this one. I want it to look good and my foam work is admittedly limited. Is this foam good for the task? Would a different material be better suited? Recommendations on molding tools and paint? Please give me some guidance! Trying to make it look like stone work similar to the photo.

·
Registered
328 Posts
For something that large, you're going to need some type of backer. You may consider making it modular, something along the line of theater flats. This will give you a wood frame for attachment points. Hollywood Haunter has some videos on their YouTube channel covering flats. I would probably use a combination of 1" and 2" foam. Laminate with 1" where needed for thickness. I'd definitely use the Pink foam. Lowes carries a blue, but the thickness dimensions are a little off.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Joe,