Halloween Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always been content in just modifying decorations and making costumes but this year took on my first large prop build.

Decided to make a pumpkin sentinel like creature to put in my flagpole holder.

Failed to take pictures along the way but got a lot of great info on the site.

Here is how it looks at 95% complete.

I put it in place last night and will update with more pictures.

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
My first visit also, but I'm a seasoned vet at the best display in my neighborhood (Corona CA).
I've never made my own prop from scratch, but that's terrific. My thing is a "Haunted Graveyard" ,
I've done it for 18 years now since I got married and bought a house in 2000. Every year I learn a
little more, try something new to up the ante..nice to find some people as into Halloween as I am.
We're a dying breed, very few decorate in my area, and these are $400K and up homes, it
seems like the tradition of decorating is fading, ..but I'll always do it and I taught my 12 yr old I want
him to do it for his child

·
Registered
226 Posts
Pooprascal- That guy is dope.... He would look so creepy on the flag pole holder. I cant wait to see pics of him on his throne

wyattspoppa- My sister lives in Corona and I am about 15 minutes up the 15 from you...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I really like this prop, can you describe more about the construction and materials you used?
Thanks to everyone for the compliments. I will do my best to outline how I made him. Most of the materials I used are ones I had around the house. There may be better options if your starting with nothing.

I build the frame out of 3/4" pvc pipe.

The rib cage was cut from a single tile of those interlocking foam floor mats (think I originally got these at local harbor freight) The sternum was the center point.

I wrapped the ribs and connected the back to the pvc with zip ties.