Halloween Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Decided to make some columns this year for my driveway. Was going to do pirates but made the last minute call to go haunted graveyard/mansion style. This is my first attempt at aging a prop using the staining method. Not to bad. Still have a bit of work to go and attach to the framing.

image.jpg

Typical Ghoul Next Door
Nice job!

Only thing I'd suggest is maybe hitting the whole column (not just the areas around the cracks/bricks) with a watered down black wash, and then dripping some water through it to make the paint run in more natural patterns rather than using a brush exclusively to drag through the paint - looks more realistic when you have the whole column area "aged" and the water will make the paint settle in the natural nooks and crannies like it does in genuine weather-exposed objects.

But it looks pretty darn good just as it is. :)

If you do try the water dripping/aging paint, do this out in the grass or something so you don't stain up your flooring. I learned pretty fast on that one! :D

Registered
Discussion Starter #4
Thank for the tip FG and MM. They aren't done yet. This was the base/heavier stain drips. I'm using a storage tote to set them in to collect all the drippings. Figured when I add the stain to darken the less obvious places, it will still cover my "crack drips" and add to them. Any more tips are welcomed. I'm using techniques from " Tarra". She makes it look so easy.

Registered
Looks good IcePick. Looks like you've been aging your whole life! :cool:

Registered
Looks good IcePick. Looks like you've been aging your whole life! :cool:
Doh! Chef! I can't believe you just said that! ;)

Registered