Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently finish my faux iron torch and had some request for more detail, so here is an attempt at some what of a tutorial (go easy on me I'm not good at laying things out for other people)

image.jpg
This is the finished product.

I started by making the fan box (sorry no build picks)
image.jpg image.jpg
So I used an old squirrel cage fan salvaged from an automotive AC unit, my box is 10 x 12 I centered the fan in a 10 x 10 square, the width is based on the fan depth (keep in mind the supply hole should be just a hair larger than the fan to keep good air production) at the bottom of the box I used some card board tube cut in half so the bottom is curved (this is to keep down the turbulence in the box and push more air to the top)

image.jpg
So now I cut a hole in the top to fit the 2in PVC pipe into

image.jpg
Now most of these fans are self cooling some of the air produced is diverted into the fan motor to keep it cool, so here you'll notice I made a hole for this return this photo show the inside

image.jpg
Here is the bottom, sorry the void under the card board curve is already filled with foam, the fan is powered by a surplus 4 amp 12v unit (think it's from an old laptop)

So on to the base
image.jpg
Here you'll see a 5 gal bucket a plywood circle cut to the size of the bottom of the bucket, a toilet flange (say what, what ever works right), a collar (you'll notice it's not your standard white PVC, keep in mind you can find goodies in the landscaping fittings also) and the 2in PVC pipe.

image.jpg image.jpg
So here we sand out the inner ridge so we can slide it over the PVC pipe (we need this to make it fit in the flange)

image.jpg
This is how it fits together, bolt the flanger thru the plywood and bucket (remember to cut a hole in the bottom of the bucket for the 2in PVC pipe)

image.jpg
So now mark and cut the hole for the fresh air intake
image.jpg