Halloween Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!

Recently, I purchased a talking, animated grim reaper prop from my local Halloween store. (I'm brand new to the forums so I can't post a link to the video yet, but search YouTube for "Winged Reaper Ultimate Animated Prop" )

I absolutely love him. The problem is that the attached speaker it comes with is deplorable. I can barely hear it, and the quality is awful. I'm placing it towards the front of my cemetery, so when people walk by, they will hear him as they pass. But with the built in speaker, it will be drowned out by my cemetery ambiance that I always have playing.

I was wondering if anyone knows if it's possible to somehow connect the wires going to the built in speakers to a 3.5mm jack, and connect it to some external speakers? I'm not too experienced with wiring, so I don't want to do anything just yet. I looked around the forums and couldn't find anyone else asking this question. Apologies if I missed it. :(

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
That should be fairly simple to do. The risk, of course, is that you might damage something. However, doing something like this is reasonably low-risk.
You'll have to get access to the internal speaker directly, which means opening the prop up. I'm not familiar with this particular prop, so I can't offer any suggestions as to how easy or difficult this might be. In any event, you will be voiding any warranty the minute you do it, just so you are aware.
That being said, it should be easy enough to clip ONE of the wires off the speaker and solder an extra wire to that so you can attach a jack to it. I recommend leaving the one wire attached to the speaker so it stays put and won't float around and short to something. Solder a second wire to the one still attached to the speaker and you have your two wires ready for the jack. Have you been able to determine how many speakers there are? One or two?