Halloween Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i am a high schooler who loves halloween and haunted houses. I have been haunting one way or another for quite a few years now. I love being as professional as can be and detail my scenes to the best of my ability. So, im interested in building an elevator for my haunt, but I need the most simple/ easy/ pretty inexpensive and most effective way to do this scene. -Thanks for all your help, happy haunting!!:D

·
The Duke of Spook
1,976 Posts
Let me be the first to suggest that you try to find a way to create a fake elevator.

Producing a device that is meant to carry the weight of people up and down is something for engineers to worry about. Even then, I would never recommend any home haunter messing with anything like that.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok so that's probably my best bet since this is my 3rd year doing a haunt (not including yard haunting) and this year hopefully I will have a bigger and new location for the general public

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well not sure if you understood what I'm trying to do but pretty much getting the feeling of being on an elevator, like a simulator. I know air bags are probably most effective but in the end will be very expensive. Do you have any suggestions

·
Registered
350 Posts
This is probably the easiest concept -- a stationary box with something scrolling by the window, with rumbling and sounds while its going. You could also possibly rig up a simple rumbling device using a reciprocating saw. But it would have to be driven by some decently expensive electronics, like a PicoBoo and some motors. Alternately you could have a human sitting outside controlling these things.

http://www.halloweenforum.com/halloween-props/97904-hellevator-progress.html