Halloween Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, looking for someone who has experience with electro magnets. One of my props this year is a witch's table which has a Ouija board on it. The table is about an inch thick and I was looking to move the pointer about a foot. Nothing fancy just move it from its resting place to another. I thought a magnet might do the trick but really don't know anything about them. The magnet would be stationary and draw the pointer to it when switched on. Is this even possible? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Hi,

I am an electrical engineer, your magnet would have to be quite powerful and expensive. Also, no way to move your pointer back when you de-energize the magnet.

Consider a wiper motor, add an arm with a rare earth magnet. Your pointer should follow the magnet through the arc traced by the arm. The magnets you can by at any souvenir shack or rock shop. (hematite magnet). Attach to the end of the arm with epoxy.

·
Registered
244 Posts
http://smile.amazon.com/DC12V-Connector-Electromagnet-Solenoid-Holding/dp/B00HR8M4QQ

That little guy costs about $10 and has an attractive force of 50N (more than 10 pounds). You can find them smaller, weaker, and cheaper on Amazon as well. You might want to go with a weaker one, because you won't get a nice gentle slow movement, the ouiga pointer will zap over to the magnet like a lightning bolt. :) How do you move it back? Maybe another magnet?

·
Funeral Crasher
7,443 Posts
I'm not well versed in really strong magnets that would work well for inch thick wood.

Maybe the one ice suggested above?

·
Registered
566 Posts