Halloween Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going for an Egyptian tomb next year. I am having trouble finding Egyptian wardrobe and props. Any ideas, hints would be helpful, but if you have something ou are looking to get rid of, please let me know. Specific things I am looking for are:

Canopic Jars
Costumes for Egyptian guards
Sarcophagus

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi Swampboy! :)

I am thinking of doing an Egyptian/Mummy theme for our annual community haunted house next year as well. After halloween, my mind exploded with ideas for next year, barrowing scene set-ups and effects from magic shows, movie illusions and my own sick, sick mind.

Since I am an artist, I was thinking I would be sculpting a lot of items I need out of styrofoam. I've joined this forum to see what others use and get some tips. Plus, I've loved Egyptian things since forever, and think that their art is very graphic and can lend itself well to ideas.

For the canopic jars, what size are you doing? If you are doing regular, small jars, what if you found cans the same size and modified the outside shape with wire and mache? You could use a wooden disk for the lid, maybe find animal and a doll head for the lids, using paper or fabric for the head dresses. Spray paint them all one color and paint in highlights to make them look like a set. Aside from that, there are some very nice (and pricey! :eek:) jars on ebay.

Since I am having Anubis jackels for my guards/actors, I was thinking to have them wear black shirts and pants and do a simple folded white skirt that Velcros around the waist. Maybe add some gold armbands or neck pieces. The heads I plan on sculpting and attaching to bike helmets, then draping black see-thru cloth over the faces. This would give my tallest actors more height.