Halloween Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, been a home haunter for quite some time now and wanted to know whats the easiest way to build maze walls for inside a garage. Last year I used 2x4 and just jammed them to the ceiling with any nails or anything. Any ideas? thanks in advanced

·
STARK Raving Mad
937 Posts
I have been using a system for 4 years now, and it works so well that I leave parts of it up year-round. I attached metal framing TRACKS to the ceiling, perpendicular to the rafters. I then insert the top end of my 2x4s into the track and put a screw through the track into the wood. See IMAGE-1.jpg

At the floor, I use Joist Hangers (from Lowes) to anchor the bottom of the 2x4s. Using a 1/8" masonry bit, I drill a couple of holes into my garage floor (gasp!) aligned with holes in the Joist Hanger, drop in some toothpicks, and tap in roofing nails. I attach the 2x4 to the Joist Hanger with a couple more screws. See IMAGE-2.jpg

For the walls themselves, I picked up a bunch of beat-up 8' conference tables (free on Craigs List), drilled 3 holes through the metal frame on each side, and attach them to the vertical 2x4s with some screws. See IMAGE-3.jpg and IMAGE-4.jpg

You could use the same system without the tables. Once the 2x4s are anchored at the top & bottom, attach your plywood, hardboard, etc.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Garage walls with black plastic

For the past 6 years, our (my daughters and I) haunted garage has had plastic vis queen walls, always a maze along with us and her school buddies hiding inside, within specially designed hiding places (typically 2ft x 2ft cubes, around corners).

Materials have included (for a 20 x 20 garage):