Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never used dry ice before (except in high school chem) so any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Questions:

1. Does anyone use dry ice in the punch?

2. If so, what is the best way to go about adding it to the punch?

3. How do you store it until you're going to use it? From what I've read you can't store it in a freezer because it will shut the fridge off and you can't store it in a cooler because the cooler could burst.

4. How much would I need? The store I'm planning to buy it from (if they have any left!) has a rule that you have to buy at least five pounds. Is that a lot? A little?

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmm.. I googled it and I guess there are two different kinds of dry ice. One is the kind you can't ingest and the other is called "food grade" dry ice and it's made from the stuff they make carbonated beverages out of. I called the ice distributor in my town and the lady said people use the stuff they sell in punch all the time for Halloween parties. She couldn't answer my questions about HOW I should do that though! Hopefully she knows what she's talking about... I definitely don't want to kill anyone!!

·
Ravenous Zombie
1,196 Posts
It's really dangerous to put the dry ice in the punch - it'll burn anyone's insides when they drink it. Instead, put the punch in a smaller bowl, and the dry ice in the bigger bowl underneath it.

·
Fallen Angel
7,061 Posts
We usually use dry ice in our punch and it works really well (it's the kind from Baskin Robbins). You will just need to let your guests know that it's in there though so they don't go trying to touch it!!

5lbs sounds about right. We use our metal tongs to add the ice to the punch. We add about a chunk or 2 an hour to keep the fog going most of the night. Make sure to add one big chunk at a time.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #7