Halloween Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been doing our haunt for many years we never took donations but in these hard times i might put a donation box out this year. Do people really donate any thing. We have the occasional person wanting to give but we don't take it.we tell them, Them coming is payment enough and hope to see you next year. What do you think
:confused:

·
Hauntless
8,332 Posts
Unfortunately, the advice given to me by my insurance agent is that if I take any money (donations or otherwise), my homeowner's insurance wouldn't cover me if anyone got injured going through my haunt. Taking money pushes you into a somewhat quasi business realm. And as we all know, insurance companies are always looking for an out :rolleyes:

·
Hauntless
8,332 Posts
We have never taken donations but are looking into taking donations for the local SPCA. We wont take anything for ourselves. We do this because it's fun but if we can help the local SPCA, that a plus!
That's a good question. I wonder if the homeowners insurance would have an issue if you don't keep any money for yourself but give it to a charity...

·
~zombie hunter~
3,346 Posts
I don't think it would it hurt to much to put a donation box out. I'v never sceen one done but there are ideas on halloween web pages about using one. I don't ever plan on using one unless it's for charity. I do a walk thorugh because it's fun and it inspires kids. It's also my christmas time so taking money isen't something I look forward to. Plus how many people have cash on them when they are taking there kids TOTing?

·
Registered
594 Posts
I've never wanted to do a donation box, because hubby and I really do this for ourselves... the spectators (err, neighbors) are just the lucky recipients that get to watch it all... it just never did feel right to me. :)

·
Registered
725 Posts