Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For this year, my wife asked what I wanted on my birthday (October 24th). I told her that all I wanted was to enjoy, celebrate, and decorate for Halloween. You see, my wife dislikes Halloween. She just doesn't get this holiday, so she had to cave in this year when it became my birthday wish to go all out this Halloween.

So, I decided to share my prop and decoration projects this year with everyone here on the forums. I just recently joined the forums, so this is my first project thread. I hope you enjoy, and if so inclined, I'm open to suggestions as well. I'm going off of my own talents (which is limited), and what I've learned from my research online. Feel free to comment, but please don't laugh at my attempts to roll my own DIY props and decorations. This is the first time I'm trying something like this instead of just buying decorations. Thanks for understanding!

I'm decorating mostly my porch area, but I will also do windows, my front door, etc. I promised not to put up anything "spooky" inside our apartment, but I'd love to get as spooky as possible on the outside. That's where I'm given free reign by the wife, lol.
;)

The central theme I'm going with is simple: skeleton as the focus, feet on the edge of my deck, body leaning forward, chained to the railing by its hands, with plastic chains. Mouth open in a scream, and lit-up eyes. Behind him, several ghosts.

Skeleton: paper mache (joint compound, wood glue, and water mix), newspaper and foam core, then painted to protect it against the elements.

Ghosts: chicken wire cut and shaped into humanoid figures, wrapped in cheesecloth, and gently lit from inside.

The supplies...

Rolling newspaper for the bones...

Fake chains...

Leg Bones...

Spine...

Attachments

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4