Halloween Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, although this isn't a prop in the usual sense of the word, this does make a nice addition to props or your haunt in general. This is my first time posting a tutorial here, and wasn't sure if this was better suited on the How to section or the Halloween Music section. Please move to correct forum if need be. Hope you enjoy, and find it useful. OK, here we go.

Goal: To create the creepy voice effect much like in poltergeist

What You'll Need:
1. Audacity (Here)
2. Sound Clip you wish to alter
3. Gverb Audacity Plugin (Info here)

Step 1: Install Audacity and open the program. you will be greeted with a screen like this:

**Note** We will need to load the sound clip into the program that we wish to alter. You can load a clip that is already on your computer, or we can record on using our mic. for this step we'll assume that we already have a file on the computer.

Step 2: Click on File > Open > (navigate to your file, select it, and click open on the dialog box) Your audio file will now be in audacity ready to be creeped.

Step 3: This is the part we will be adding the effects. First, Click on Effect at the top middle of your screen. Choose the reverse effect. You will notice the audio changed. If you play it at this point, it would of coursed be revered... clever eh? ok moving on.

Step 4: After the Audio is reversed, we will go back to the Effect menu option, and this time we are going to select the Gverb option. (assuming you installed the gverb addon, I will touch on this after this tutorial) The Gverb Option window will be displayed here. This is the area where the main effect happens. I could go into detail as to what all these options mean, but theres really no point. Slide the bars until you get a sound that you like. for the purpose of this tutorial i will show you the settings i used for my audio that i altered.