Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

Well I'm stuck at home like so many of you the last few weeks. I have a project I had completely forgot about.I purchased a skeleton monkey last year from target.
I am new to corpsing.
I have a "pirate corner" in my living room. I thought I would like to make a Undead Jack the monkey. I debated on making it look like a 19th century taxidermy or really corpse him up like Jack.

My question is has anyone tried using Liquid Acrylic instead of Liquid Latex?

I want to use the supplies I have on hand. I also have panty hose, plastic sheeting and a heat gun and many other misc supplies to work with.

I think I want to decide his final position before I start the process. He is only positional vertically so I'll likely take him apart and find a glue that is strong enough to keep him in place.

Thank you for any help! I hope ya'll are knee deep in a project.
20200406_154546.jpg

·
Typical Ghoul Next Door
7,011 Posts
I haven't done corpsing before, but I would think using liquid latex and hosery is a good plan from what I've seen of past corpsing projects, and going for a smaller skeleton (monkey) is smart for a first try. I hope you post photos!

·
Registered
290 Posts
From my experience liquid acrylic (gesso) will not give you the desired flexibility like liquid latex when it dries. Gesso is used to prep canvas materials to paint on. So when it dries it's meant to be more rigid while liquid latex is more "rubber" like and flexible. I bet you have glue laying around somewhere. Mix it 50/50 with water and soak paper towels, toilet paper or cotton (t-shirts) in it and use it as a mache to form "skin". When dry you can paint it with latex or acrylic paint to achieve the desired effect. This will give you a similar effect to liquid latex.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7