Halloween Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have talked my wife into going to the Midwest Haunters Convention in 2014. We are not owners of a haunt or anything. This is my first year of setting up an elaborate set up at home (I’m usually working on Halloween) but love scaring people and seeing their reactions. I wouldn’t call it a home haunt, but it is my haunt. :)

I really want to do the pre convention bus tour if it is offered again this year. Looks like a blast !!
My question is, we are convention virgins and know absolutely no one. I see there is a section for volunteering at the convention and was wondering if anyone could give an idea of what volunteers do. We basically know nothing about haunting other than it is fun. :) I wouldn’t want to volunteer to do something where I would be put in a place that would require some type of haunting knowledge, but thought this would be the best way to meet new people. I’m not exactly the best in social situation with people I don’t know.

Thanks for any advice.

Kevin

·
Registered
152 Posts
I've never been to a haunt convention/tradeshow either.... but been to other tradeshows. I think you're on the right track about volunteering in order to meet people- maybe there will be a group from Halloween forum that will meet up there and you can hang out with them. I wish I could go,

·
Registered
11 Posts
This will be our 4th year going to MHC and you will have no problem making haunt friends! We knew absolutely no one our first year and learned very quickly how friendly everyone is. The main thing we were told was to never say "im just a home haunter".... no! You ARE a home haunter and be proud of it! you will meet everyone from set designers, owners, actors, make up artists, home haunters and pro haunters.

We travel 10 hours to get to this convention and wouldnt miss it! Plus they are keeping the tradeshow floor price at $5 per person and costume ball is $40

·
Registered