Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since this was my first year, I don't have much if any tools for making props. I was thinking about asking for a hot wire knife. So, can anyone recommend items that I might want to get for my 'tool kit'? Also, any recommendation on a hot wire knife would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian

·
Rutherford Manor Haunt
2,065 Posts
We use the Hot Wire Foam Factory cutters, we picked up the Pro kits at HAUNTcon this year. I used them both this season they work very well and seem to cover all of our needs.

I just checked their web page, they have a sale right now!! 25-30% off the pro sets!

http://hotwirefoamfactory.com/home.php?cat=103

·
Registered
112 Posts
My cousin is a professional prop maker. I asked him the same question, and he recommended a hot knife that costs about $135. I thought that was too much, so I spent only around $30 (after all, I am not a pro). Mistake. It fell apart within 3 minutes. It was more like a flimsy wire than a knife. So, next I will spend more and at least make sure it is a knife blade, not a wire. He said he only uses one blade all the time, so don't buy extra sizes. Forgot the brand he said, but I should have followed his advice.

·
Going bump in the night..
3,388 Posts
Others may disagree, but for me, the most used tool in my garage for prop making is my Dremel.

I recommend getting a quality rotary tool (I've purchased inexpensive ones, and have invariably killed every one of them. My Dremel (I purchased a beefy model with plenty of torque) has survived for more years than I can accurately recall - at least 7 or 8, maybe more), and in addition, I recommend one that has a flex-shaft accessory - this can give you great control, as you can use the tool without having to hold the weight of it.