Halloween Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
438 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen several questions about latex, but no one has mentioned the technique that I use...so here's my secret (and cheap) weapon for corpsing and such.

Flat Latex Paint.

I'm sure that I borrowed this idea from someone ages ago, but for me, it works just as well as regular latex at a fraction of the cost (especially if it's "oops" paint from Home Depot). Ok, I'm no artist...so keep that in mind. I usually just dip the cotton, papertowels, spider webs, etc. right into the can, squeeze out the excess by dragging it between my fingers and then slap it on. (SLAP) It's fast, cheap & effective.

If you're doing some special project and your paint is too runny, just leave the lid off of it for a few days to thicken it.

And from what I understand, if you use Exterior grade, it contains and anti-molding agent. ...'cuz we don't like things to actually BE moldy, we just want them to look that way, right?

Recently, I read here somewhere that there are Elastomeric paints that really seal things water tight...which I presume latex paint does too, but probably much better. So, maybe that's the way to go with paper mache and other delicate props.

·
Registered
298 Posts
Wow..what a cool idea. I'll have to try that with next years props! Thanks!

·
Registered
775 Posts
Sounds like a great idea....So instead of creating something by applying, say cotton, then brushing latex over it..You would just use regular latex paint. I can see where buying a big pale of it would be much cheaper than the little bottles of latex they sell. Does the latex paint stick as well. I know that when they do the corpsing with cotton, they attach the cotton with the latex first, they brush another layer of latex over it. For large props, this would probably cost a fortune.

Also, do you have any pics of things you have made using this technique.

Rob

·
Registered
397 Posts