Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m looking for cheap and easy ways to light up tombstones as well as some yard props in my haunt. I’ve got about 25 tombstones and need bulk lighting that is waterproof. I’ve used those LED color changing puck lights before, but you have to turn them on and off every night and they only have about 10-20 hours of light per 3 AA batteries, so those get pricey over a month long scene. I have low voltage landscape lights throughout the yard year round but can’t find mini light fixtures that can display different colors cheap at all. Would love something that can display whatever colors or color I need plus has a 4-6 hour timer. Oh, and I’m not very technical at all! Am I asking too much here??

·
Registered
32 Posts
Do you want the color to change, or are single colors per tombstone acceptable? You mentioned landscape lights. If you still have them color bulbs are available. Although it's a little late now, I typically wait until after the holidays to stock up on everything, including lights. Between Halloween and Christmas you can get many of the effect type lights (swirling, kaleidoscope) for half off or more, then after Christmas there are a lot of LED spots out there. WalMart, if you have one, usually clears these out for a few bucks each. Then there's always film/gel, but I've always been partial to the LED spots. Keep an eye open on CL marketplace, Craigslist, and Ebay for these items, as well. And if you don't need them all to come on at different times.one or two timers is all you need. Just plug them into the same circuits. With LEDs especially you are not running high wattage. These times are also on clearance after Christmas, and big box clubs also carry them prior to Halloween for good prices. For anything on my porch that is covered, I have clamp on and can lights to help with the effects. Again, these can be garage sale finds.

·
The Haunting Girl
878 Posts