Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be making a cemetery gate entrance complete with pillars on each side topped with gargoyles. I haven't searched the forum yet but will do so shortly for ideas.

Any advice is certainly welcome! My initial thoughts were pvc pipe and foam construction. Then again, I could use a light wood frame and foam.

Thanks ahead of time! I'm a newby to prop construction, but I'm also an electrical engineer and will probably over do the whole project! LOL!

Seth

·
Registered
178 Posts
You might well consider a wooden core to the pillars. Wind tends to knock down foam pillars, even woodcore ones have problems. Then you will have people passing through and the weight will help. MIne are woodcore with foam outside and I still have to run a stake up the center due to the wind we get in October.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Awesome gate and columns...Pod. I too have issues with high winds and wind gust living on a hill crest. I made mine all of wood and added 50 lbs of weight in each one.

·
Undertaker
3,244 Posts
My gate columns bottoms are enclosed with hatch added. I slip 70 lbs of weight in each one to insure they will not topple over in high winds which has been a serious problem in Michigan over the last (4) years.

·
Undertaker
3,244 Posts
Thanks for your post Oaklawn. What did you use for weights? Do you put you columns on your lawn or on a hard surface like a concrete driveway?
I use solid steel weight lifting weights. The gate columns are on the driveway. The fence usually secures the fence columns in place however, I have driven 1/2 steel rod to box them in during high winds. It seems we always have extremely high winds two or three days before Halloween every dang year.

·
Registered
325 Posts