Halloween Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have very little experience with prop building, but I have created a newspaper skeleton (SpookyBlue style, but using cans for the sternum instead of a pool noodle).

Alan from StiltBeast Studios uses a widely known technique for corpsing, where you wrap the skelly in plastic, then heat-gun it to shrink it on, forming a rotted-skin-like appearance.

I was wondering if using the heat gun on the newspaper is a bad idea... Basic common sense says yes, but if it is do-able, then I know it would save me alot of time.

What are your guys' experiences with heat-gunning paper? Is it a quick trick or a fiery disaster? :(

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Will-do, thank's for the tip!

·
Registered
738 Posts
I've used the plastic technique many times before, and would think if your newspaper "frame" is rigid/stiff enough it should work. The technique works by the plastic shrinking from the applied heat. If the plastic is too thick, when it shrinks - it may distort your newspaper since paper doesn't have much rigidity. You'll have to just experiment and try it out! :)

·
Rutherford Manor Haunt
2,067 Posts
I think it will work, just be careful with the heat gun keep it moving! :)

Another concern could be the stain saturating the paper. I have used Allan Hopps technique many times and It takes quite a lot of stain. The newspaper will absorb quite a bit and that may affect the and distort the base structure as well. Who knows it may be one of those happy "mistakes" and make it look even creepier? I would recommend you get it out in the sun as quickly as possible to speed up the drying time on the stain.

·
Oak Lane Cemetery
2,102 Posts