Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to all of this, so I apologize if this is a stupid question. I picked this up because it's perfect for our mad-scientist haunt. The only problem is that it blinks and makes an electrifying sound for a whopping 6 seconds. Can this be wired to be constant-on? I don't want something I have to keep pressing a button for.

IMG_16521.jpg IMG_16531.jpg

·
Registered
57 Posts
If you just cut the wire on the switch and splice the cut ends together, you might get constant flashing and noise. But maybe not. There's a lengthy discussion about why this may be the case in the Home Depot Howling Wolf thread.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
We tried that, and it still stops at 6 seconds. There's a green motherboard sorta thing that all the wires connect to, and it's what I believe cause the sounds and blinking, and the auto-shutoff. Wish I knew where to cut and bypass the auto-off

·
Registered
57 Posts
It's at the microcontroller level, then. No easy way to do it. Lights would be easy--add some resistors to the LED lines and then power them directly, but the sound is a problem.

·
Blaberus craniifer
4,920 Posts
without seeing how it all works, I could only suggest something like an Arduino and a relay, to trip the switch every 6 seconds or so.

·
Registered
429 Posts
Actually you just need a small timer circuit that will press the button regularly. This is the one you want:
http://www.vellemanusa.com/products/view/?id=350686

It's designed to make lights flash for models, or trigger a camera every few seconds, etc. It comes as a kit that needs to be soldered together, but there's also a version that is fully assembled.

Search Google for...
Kit version: Velleman MK111
Assembled version: Velleman VM136