Halloween Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
865 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never used black light before. I bought a smaller black light tube assembly from Spirit and I'm planning to use it in my Murdered Bride chamber. I was going to string some low light purple or orange strings along the upper border of the room for atmosphere but now I'm wondering if it's a waste of time. Either they won't show up in the black light or the black light's effect will be reduced.

Am I right?

·
A Wee Bit Wicked
1,292 Posts
I guess it would depend on how bright the strands are. I have lights all around my black lights, but they are orange string lights and they don't affect the glow of the black light. Depends on what you are trying to make "glow". Is it glow in the dark to begin with? Or have you soaked the fabric in RIT? Anything made to glow in the dark will really "POP" under black light. This is a Bucky skeleton painted with glow in the dark paint and the cheesecloth behind him was soaked in RIT. This was taken in my living room and the there were two lamps and multiple orange strands of light in the room.

·
Registered
109 Posts
I think you'll find that they will blend pretty well - but you'll most likely need more than one tube if it's a whole chamber unless it's completely dark.

I use three small 12" tubes inside my boat display which is about 10 square feet and 4 feet in height and in my opinion it's not enough.

You want UV from many different directions to wash the space unless you are lighting just one prop.

·
Blue Pill? or Red Pill?
4,100 Posts
I bought 2 of these and boy are they strong lights and LED ! http://www.goldengadgets.com/l-a3w-uv-110v-ac-3-watt-uv-led-light-bulb.html
Also spirit has this: and they light up a hallway well and all around too: http://www.spirithalloween.com/product/screw-in-anywhere-black-light/?w=blacklight&UTM_campaign=Search:SC:blacklight