Halloween Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year hosting a party and we are having a costume contest. We included on the invites that there will be prizes for Best Costume, Sexiest & Most Original. I can't figure out the best way to choose the winners. It would be easiest for me to just choose the winners but I am affraid people will think it's biased. But here will be ~25 guests and I think it would get too confusing to just let them all vote on each category. I thought perhaps I could pick 3 to put up for each prize, then people could vote, but not sure how to do the voting. Any ideas or ways you've tried in the past?

·
Zombie Inside
2,045 Posts
I print out ballots with all the categories and set them, along with pens, next to the ballot box. At midnight I make an announcement for people to put their votes in and give them 30 minutes to do it. At that time I take the box into another room and tally up the votes. Then I gather everyone up to announce the winners and give out prizes. No trouble, in my opinion.

·
Devilishly Dutch
5,920 Posts
I do pretty much the same thing as Rikki....only right before voting, we do a monster stroll so that everyone can show off their costumes. After the stroll we vote using pre printed ballots with the categories on them. Only problem we've had with this system is what people write. Someone will write in 'pumpkin dude' but we have 2 people dressed as pumpkins. Or they don't know exactly what the person is dressed as and they don't know their names. So this year we have decided to use numbers to avoid confusion.

MsM

·
Registered
6 Posts
The way to go when you have 25 people, is to do it by loudness of the crowd.

We have 3 categories... funny, scary, and overall best.

When we are ready to do the contest, we have all the people who want to compete go into the other room and they parade through the main areas one at a time.