Halloween Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are the best free open source and commercial software options for:

1) Video Editing

2) DVD Authoring (being able to create really nice, nested menus)

3) Combination of both #1 and #2

My budget would be less than $200 for all of the above. Any good options in that price range?

Or what about On Demand / Cloud licensing options? Would not be using this software all year around. In fact, I could imagine devoting around 3 months time, software license duration wise, to putting what I need together.

Sorry, Mac is not an option at this time. Sticking with Windows OS for now. Although a Linux dual-boot is a possibility. As a former Unix sysadmin, I'm comfortable with Linux. But don't currently run it on any of my home machines.

·
Hauntless
8,398 Posts
I use Adobe Premiere Elements. It's got a heck of a learning curve but if you stick with a basic formula of how you like your videos to look than once you figure it out - it's easy. They like to update it every year but I only buy a new copy every 3-4 years. I'm still on Premiere Elements 9 and they are already on 13: http://www.adobe.com/products/premiere-elements/features.html

Oh, editing video (especially HD) tasks your processor like mad. You need to have a relatively fast computer.

·
Registered
881 Posts
Hi Mike, go to the link and read the comments for suggestions mentioning other free video editors.
On the same site (but different page, (use "previous" link on left side) you can find where it gave away dvd creator software, and on that comment page will be suggestion for free alternative dvd authoring tools.

BTW how did your radio setup work out ?

Linky: http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/avs-video-editor-6-5/#comments

·
Registered
1,686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·