Halloween Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: In case it's not obvious (it is) I'm a complete newb to prop-building with shamefully little DIY skill.

What tool(s) do you use to cut PVC? I'm going to attempt to make chains and eventually body frames.

What other tools do you use frequently for prop building? I am starting off with tombstones. I've gathered through research here that jigsaws and dremels are must-haves?

Thanks in advance!

·
Caretaker of Eerie Manor
6,489 Posts
They make actual pvc cutting tools. Not cheap but they work well. You can do a nice clean job with a simple hack saw. I've used a chop saw as well.

·
Registered
1 Posts
It really depends on how big the pipe is, how much you are cutting, and how thick. Ratcheting PVC cutters work well for most size pipe. For larger pipe or for doing mulitple or thinner cuts I would use a band saw or sawzall. I have even used a chop saw with a fine tooth blade and it has worked well, but make sure the teeth are fine. I tried a more aggressive blade before and it broke the pipe. Make sure that whatever you use to not get the blade too hot or you will melt the PVC.

·
Registered
226 Posts

·
Registered
361 Posts
I had to cut 28 pieces of pvc pipe for a pirate ship rail. I used a 10" miter saw with a plywood cutting blade, I attached a wooden stop to my fence and started to cut away.

The problem with pvc cutters is that they won't make a straight cut.

·
Registered
216 Posts
I have a shark saw--swear buy it---i don't like anything but i love my shark saw! Be careful with a chop saw--i had a pvc pipe explode on me onece

·
Registered
7,208 Posts
About $12 gets a big pair of racheting "Scissors" that work So good , no pipes explode no crap flying from small tooth bites. I used to cut pvc for a living.

·
Registered
7,208 Posts
Just a point of info..