Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am brand new to this medium and would love some ideas on the best recipe for the paste. I found one that sounds pretty simple and good which is 1 cup elmers glue, 1 cup corn starch and 1 cup water. Any other recipes would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks everyone, audible

·
Registered
340 Posts
hi audible, I use only water and elmers. Usually in a 1 part glue to 2 part water but I've heard that some people go up to 1 part glue to 5 parts water. 1:2 has been working great for me :) I'm not sure what the starch is for but I'd love to know too.

·
The Goddess of Screams
518 Posts
I just used half water and half Elmers, on my spell book I created - and used papertowel instead of newspaper. Not sure if I did it right but it came out nice - it's amazing how hard it is!! I didn't realize it'd come out so hard! I love it!

·
Registered
298 Posts
I just made a skull by taking a cardboard beverage holder, tearing it up and placing it in a blender with water to get "pulp". No glue was added. Then I put the pulp in a strainer to drain off excess water. I used my fingers to wring out more water and then used my fingers to place the pulp on my the skull that had been previously covered with aluminum foil. The trick is not getting the pulp too dry or too wet.....you want it a *little* loose to work with, but NOT runny or it won't stay on. As I applied the pulse I'd use my fingers/palms to press out a lot more of the water.

Using this method, I could shape the eyes and add features on the fly. It was easy, messy and fun.

Afterwards I put it on some paper towels and in the convection oven on 150F.

·
AntiChrist Superstar
1,418 Posts