Halloween Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!! I've been a member since late May, might as well call it June. I'm 25, female, 5' 8" or 6' 2" depending on what convenience store I'm walking out of, and LOVE Halloween!
I'm studying to become a meteorologist and will have my bachelors degree this December. My Fiance has his bachelors in Civil Engineering. We have a few pets; Rabbit, bird and gecko and yes they all live happily in the house. The Rabbit runs around like a cat or dog would, while the bird is usually roosting on the ceiling fan.
My fiance and I didn't get serious into the Halloween decorating until two years ago. Out here in Rapid City we got nailed by winter storm Atlas, and it left me with a BUNCH of dead branches in my yard. I used them to create a cocoon around the entry way that year covered with spider webs. People seemed to enjoy it so we decided the next year we had to go bigger. Last year we built two fake walls to enclose the entryway, spattered it with red paint, chopped the ends with an ax, and wound some chains around it. We then built our large spider, Twiggy, to put on top of the entry way roof. After that it was all was wrapped in even more spider webs, and had about 6 more strobe lights added. WE felt like kings in our neighborhood, even the neighbors played along with the spider theme. Despite the crappy weather, the lights and sound drew in 60 more kids than the neighbors.