Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
725 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to learn a bit about programmable circuits. I am a programmer so that side is a piece of cake, and have been learning how to build some basic circuits.

Anyhow does anyone know what the big differences are between the Basic Stamp and Pickaxe? Price wise there is a huge gap and I am really just wondering if the cheaper one is good for doing certain things and at what point you move into the more expensive vesrion.

·
Registered
522 Posts
The Prop-1 ($39.95) and Prop-2 ($99.95) from EFX-TEK are basic stamp controllers with support circuitry to allow interfacing to props directly. They would be the best to start with unless you are really good with electronics.

I have not ordered the Basic Stamp IC ($28) either - At that price it is better just to buy the Prop-1 from EFX-TEK.

I have been looking at the PICaxe ($3.95 for the 8 pin chip) recently due to it's price, but have not yet ordered one to play with. It requires a programming cable (So does the Prop-1&2) and of course the ULN chip to allow it to drive stuff.

·
Insane Genius
1,251 Posts
I've done a LOT of picaxe programming, and can vouch for its abilities

Yes it does require a programming cable, but its a cable you can build yourself, and you get instructions on how to build the cable with the manuals

so basically ALL you need to do to get started with the Picaxe is buy it, the software is free, the programming cable is free, for a chip that you can get up and running with for $5 then what are you waiting for?

·
BAD INFLUENCE
11,457 Posts
I am trying to learn a bit about programmable circuits. I am a programmer so that side is a piece of cake, and have been learning how to build some basic circuits.