Halloween Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
What Hump?
1,107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been able to, with much advice, instruction, and reading on this and other sites, create a lot of masks and small props by sculpting the prop in WED clay, making a mold of the sculpt in Ultracal 30, and taking a cast out of the mold with latex or other materials.

That's all well and good, but now I want to go bigger.

What happens when I want to create a 6 foot tall foam body form? How about a giant skull?

The limiting factor here seems to be the Utracal 30 mold. A 6 foot tall, two piece, Ultracal mold is going to weigh hundreds of pounds.

From watching shows like "Making Monsters" and "Face Off", I think that the answer to the larger mold material is Fiberglass, but I've never worked with it before.

Has anyone here worked with molding and casting on that type of large scale?
What recommendations would you make?
Is fiberglass the way to go?
Where would I obtain the materials?
Where can I find some good web-based training resources (I'm apparently not using the right keywords in my searches).

Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Hello Abunai. Here is what I can offer to try and help. I think fiberglass is a good way to go for large scale props. It has great strength and a relatively light weight. To get the material you can check with a boat dealer. They use fiberglass to make and repair boats. Of course there is always an internet search for bulk fiberglass. You will need the fiberglass sheets/strands and the resin. As for training, I would check for videos or articles on 'fiberglass mold making' or 'fiberglass casting'. A quick YouTube search brought up some videos in each category. Side note - you will want to add wood bracing to the mold to give it some rigidity to help prevent cracking and to be able to move large pieces.

Recommendations......use it in a VERY,VERY,VERY well ventilated area. The fumes are unbelievable.