Halloween Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,832 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am getting ready to begin working on a large spell book, where each page will have unique spells and potions on them. I am investigating various techniques to get each page completed with writings and artwork, you can see my post here in the tutorials section if you have any helpful input..... http://www.halloweenforum.com/tutorials-and-step-by-step/148301-creepy-books-tomes-spell-grimoires-3.html

....but since I am not an artist, I think my best option is to use rubber stamps and stencils for the majority of the artwork that I can't do by hand.

So my ask is this: does anyone have any old rubber stamps or stencils that you don't use anymore that I could either buy or even borrow (of course I pay for shipping in either scenario)? Some of the rubber stamps I've found online are pretty pricey and I'm trying to keep costs down, and since it's a fairly large book, I need a nice variety to keep it authentic looking.

I'm looking for Halloween or macabre related, and anything Victorian.

image.jpg

image.jpg

·
Somewhat Eccentric
2,278 Posts
I think I have one or two hiding somewhere, but I remember way back in high school advanced art class we did linoleum block printing. Basically you carved your design into the block and used it as a stamp. Not sure what the supplies would cost or even if there's a more modern and easier alternative, but you could make your own unique stamps.

·
Registered
1,499 Posts
If you can't find rub on transfers, you can find tutorials on Youtube for how to make your own. Might be faster and cheaper to make your own and then rub them onto your pages. That way you can also customize your font, your images and what you want as far as spells and potions.

·
Registered
2,832 Posts
Discussion Starter #6