Halloween Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I bought my first projector (NET MT1060) in November 2016 from a well known auction site. Yes it was too late for Halloween 2016 but I was recommended a certain model and it took time for one to appear. I bought AtmosFX "Bone Chillers" as a test and have discovered that projections are a lot of fun. :D

I now want to investigate projection mapping of our house for Halloween (and possibly other holidays). Apart from needing another projector (mainly because I need a short throw projector but it would be nice to have better ANSI lumens than the NEC and also to have 1920x1080 native resolution to future proof things) I know that I need some decent software as well.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to projection mapping but I want to be able to do the whole thing from starting with a 3D trace to the final thing with decent effects like the house crumbling down, lightening flashes, character animation, etc.

I have looked at Adobe for Photoshop, Premiere Pro, and After Effects as Adobe is the professional choice and should be able to do anything I want (as long as I can learn how to do it :rolleyes:) however whilst I don't mind paying a few hundred for a decent used projector I think the prices that Adobe charge for their software (i.e. between £25 and £45 per month which is between £300 and £540 a year) is a lot of money for something that is on display for a few days a year. I'm not a professional - although I would like to be a talented amateur. ;)

So on the above requirements, can anybody recommend software alternatives to Adobe's offerings. My main computer is a modern MacBook Pro, although I do have access to a Windows 7 laptop. Also if software is open source (i.e. free) then so much the better! :cool:

Many thanks,

·
Registered
668 Posts